Pink Pez (CURE Dispensary)

Written by KindReviews on November 3rd, 2010. Posted in B+, Blog, CURE Dispensary, Grades, Hybrid, Indica-Dominant Hybrid, MMCs, Reviews

[smooth=id:109;]

Pink Pez Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: CURE Dispensary

Grade: B+

Type: Indica-dominant hybrid, Pez (Afghani x Pakistani) x Sour Pink Grapefruit (Sour Diesel x Sweet Pink Grapefruit)

Price: $50/8th + tax

Appearance: (7.25/10)  For whatever reason, this one didn’t appear all that nice in the hand, but it revealed its true beauty once it was under the camera, where its bevy of coloration could be seen.  The calyxes were a light healthy green, the leaves were a darker Indica shade, and there were spots of purple, blue, and pinkish hues on certain calyxes.  The trichome coverage was adequate but the harvest seemed slightly early, as there were almost no visible amber trichome heads.  Great structure though, with long, thin, Christmas tree-like buds that were nicely dried and dense.

Aroma: (8.75/10)  This was the only area where the name really seemed to fit the strain — the smell it produced reminded us of a sweet pink grapefruit.  There were notes of citrus, pine, cherry candy, and flowers, and it was nicely pungent once ground up.

Taste: (5.5/10)  While it wasn’t a bad taste, we really struggled to get much of a read on this one.  We got some sweet notes, some slightly spicy/floral notes, and that was about it.  The smoke was smooth and enjoyable though, very easy to consume with it non-expansive nature and soft attack.  The final ash was a mottled medium gray — maybe a more thorough flush would’ve helped the flavor a bit, but it seemed pretty adequate.

Effects: The Pink Pez started out with a Sativa-feeling head attack, making our foreheads feel heavy and overbearing, as if we had a Neanderthal brow.  The initial attack made it a bit hard to focus and there was a clear heart-racing that came on about 10 minutes into it, building in effect until its peak around 30 minutes.  Though it was fairly social in nature, we think it would be a bit of a struggle to have a complex conversation with a stranger, etc. — best for easy-going company.  A heavy body presence came over us after the initial effects receded — we felt relaxed and drawn to the couch… this stage could easily lead into sleep.  Depending on the time of medication, you’ll either shake yourself off and continue on with your day once this med brings you back to normal. or you’ll be tired enough to just call it an early night.

Duration: Medium-Long, about 2.5 hours

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Mood elevation, headaches, appetite stimulation, general relaxation, and sleep aid.

Overall: The smell this strain possessed was pretty wonderful — basically the opposite end of most of the impressive-smelling samples we’ve had lately (most seem to be Diesel or Kush-dominant), it provided a wonderfully sweet candy-like aroma that still had a nice sharp quality to it.  The appearance was very good as well, with lots of colors and great structure.  Though the cannabinoid numbers came back kind of low, the initial potency actually felt rather strong and this strain held steady at medicinal levels for a solid 1.5 – 2 hours, which is very good.  It might get on top of you a bit when it shifts gears mid-way through and gets heavy on the eyes, but the worst thing that would happen is an unexpected nap.  We recommend this as a very good after-work relaxation med or one that leads into sleep; it was a quality Indica-dominant hybrid experience overall.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (5)

  • November 10, 2010 at 1:18 pm |

    how many days in flower for the pink pez

  • rlp
    November 10, 2010 at 1:20 pm |

    Maybe someone who’s grown this strain can chime in here, but I’m seeing about 8 weeks in various places online. Someone was complaining that the Pink Pez wasn’t done at 10 weeks though, so there might be some variation. It’s a rather Indica-dominant strain aside from the Sour Diesel influence, so 8 weeks seems about right to my brain.

  • mmmmmmj
    February 4, 2011 at 10:36 pm |

    mine are in their 9th week and just started to pack on a ton of new growth and still cloudy. the new growth might be because a bought new lights in the 8th week

  • TheMMJCultivators
    April 18, 2011 at 11:57 am |

    There are two strains of Pink Pez going around, Original Pink Pez flowers in 8 weeks and the other genetic of Pink Pez (Pink Pez x Sour Diesel) takes 10-11 weeks to flower.

  • shazamm
    September 1, 2012 at 12:43 pm |

    i took my sour diesel male and hit the pink pez,, wow!! what a nice plant, several very good phenoz,, i then took one of the males from that cross and hit my tahoe og. in this line i hope to find my holy grail.

Leave a comment