Deathstar (CAM)

Written by KindReviews on November 24th, 2010. Posted in A, Blog, Colorado Alternative Medicine, Grades, Hybrid, MMCs, Reviews

Death Star Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: Colorado Alternative Medicine (CAM)

Grade: A

Type: Balanced hybrid, Sour Diesel x Sensi Star

Price: $50/8th

Appearance: (8.75/10)  With its strong green and orange coloring, solid structure, and a very nice coating of frost, this Death Star had a classic yet impressive look.  It was made up mostly of large calyxes with perfectly-timed trichomes all over them, though there were some extra leaves left on in spots.  When broken up, it left the hands sticky and pungent — great bag appeal all-around and no real flaws to be seen.

Aroma: (8.75/10)  Maybe the highlight of this strain, the aroma was very pungent, both pre and post-grind.  The sour fuel stank carried notes of rubber, menthol, and lemon but also had a strange sweetness lingering in the background.  The combination of those smells made this one really noteworthy and impressive to our staff — great choice for Diesel-lovers.

Taste: (7.5/10)  Very much like the smell, the taste was a slight sweet Diesel-dominant flavor with hints of citrus and soil.  The sweetness was elusive and seemed to come and go, but when the whole package was present, it was top-notch.  The smoke was smooth and easy to consume, only getting a little rough at the very end – the near-white ash it left behind showed that it had a very good flush.

Effects: A building pressure in the eyes and around the back of the head and temples started things off, with an increase in heart rate and some perspiration happening at times.  The body started buzzing early on and that kept up throughout the experience, though it turned to more of a warming feeling as it went on.  The Indica side of this cross showed up almost out of nowhere, with a couchlocked yet mentally clear and social effect coupled with the warm and relaxed body.  This one seemed to depend on mood and time of day a bit, as a  large dosage in the evening sent one reviewer to bed unexpectedly, but most daytime reviews were very relaxed but not narcotic or sleep-inducing.

Duration: Long, 2.5 – 3 hours

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Strong ocular presence early on, lasting body relaxation, some mood elevation, appetite stimulation, headache relief, and sleep aid (especially at higher dosages).

Overall: A real treat for Diesel-lovers and those seeking a balanced overall experience, this Death Star really did bring the best of both its parent strains.  Early Diesel effects subsided into an ultra-relaxing and sedative Indica that carried a variety of medical benefits.  The grow quality was top-notch, with no real flaws and a pleasing appearance, smell, and taste.  The potency is rather high overall and it lasted a long time, so we’d recommend this mostly to moderate to experienced patients who like an acrid taste spectrum and an up-then-down experience.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (13)

  • Vegasmyopia
    February 1, 2011 at 2:59 am |

    I am home-bound and need to get my medication. Does anyone know a compassionate dispensary that takes paypal? Thank you in advance for your help.

  • rlp
    February 1, 2011 at 11:20 am |

    I don’t believe anyone accepts Paypal… there are some shops which offer delivery services for homebound patients, but they’re pretty rare here in Colorado. In California, the delivery system is much more prevalent.

  • February 27, 2012 at 1:56 pm |

    hes lying he aint home riden hes trying to score some free budd hahaha

  • vberg
    March 14, 2012 at 10:41 pm |

    yes….yes he is…

  • VIN
    October 11, 2012 at 12:39 am |

    NEED A DISPSARY OR GROW IN CANADA WAITING FOR RECORDS…

  • MatHaro
    November 23, 2012 at 9:38 am |

    i was lucky enough to get my hands on some of this on the east side of the U.S. and i have to say this is absolutely my favorite strain out of any. its fucking fantastic and it lasts longer than any other strain i have smoked.

  • fireball
    November 24, 2012 at 12:05 pm |

    i came across some “deathstar” and noticed it had seeds. Has anyone else had the same?

  • deathstar405
    February 7, 2013 at 11:06 am |

    Any possible way to find this for my own garden in socal?

  • czen
    April 2, 2013 at 9:51 pm |

    DEATHSTAR IS THE DOPEST DOPE I EVER SMOKED.. i live n OHIO n its plentful.. IF U EVER GET THE CHANCE TO SMOKE IT, PLEASE DO NOT PASS IT UP….. : ) ………

  • chease
    June 25, 2013 at 6:29 am |

    What are the side effects of smoking this strand? After I smoke my pupils became super small almost pinned is this normal?

  • yoshi R
    September 14, 2013 at 7:07 am |

    Ohio needs more options. This is a great bud but come on people. Kong wipes the floor with this. Yes it’s a very good bud. But you need to try Kong. About 3x as potent. Deathstar is fantastic though and in Colorado it’s one of our good standard buds.

Leave a comment