Alien OG (CAM)

Written by KindReviews on November 23rd, 2010. Posted in A-, Blog, Colorado Alternative Medicine, Grades, Hybrid, Indica-Dominant Hybrid, MMCs, Reviews

Alien OG Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: Colorado Alternative Medicine (CAM)

Grade: A-

Type: Indica-dominant hybrid, Tahoe OG Kush x Alien Kush (Kyle Kushman’s Las Vegas Purple Kush x Alien Technology)

Price: $50/8th

Appearance: (9.5/10)  This was absolutely one of the most impressive samples that we’ve seen on a purely visual level.  The amount of tall, leaning trichomes that cover every surface of this sample is astronomical, thanks in large part to the Alien Technology father, which really seems to add trich coverage to everything it touches.  Big, burly teardrop-shaped calyxes are mostly minty green but are deep purple in areas (likely due to the Purple Kush influence), lending this an even prettier appearance up-close.  No visible flaws to this sample aside from a slightly loose manicure — it appeared to be very well-grown and harvested at the proper time (~10-15% amber trichomes).

Aroma: (8/10)  Spice, soil, and piney vegetation were the main aromas we got out of this one — it was never all that pungent, but the Kushy spice qualities were still rather appealing.  It seemed to require handling or grinding to get much of any smell out of it — perhaps a slightly longer cure might’ve helped it out a bit.

Taste: (7.25/10)  A hint of pine, some sweetness, and some of the same spice notes from the smell were present in the taste, though again, it wasn’t all that pungent.  The taste lingered more in the throat than on the tongue (in a good way), and some taste was present almost all the way to the end.  The last few hits got a little ‘hot’, but overall it was a rather smooth smoke that didn’t give us the urge to cough — the final ash was a semi-murky medium gray, showing that it could’ve perhaps used a longer flush.

Effects: Starting with a near-rushy Sativa onset, it sent a bunch of pressure into the eyes and forehead, which stayed there for the majority of the experience.  The body began feeling rather warm (especially the hands) and relaxed — it was a smooth state where aches and pains seemed to disappear, though it wasn’t really narcotic-feeling at any point.  This strain had us in a somewhat pensive, thoughtful mood that lent itself to singular focus but carried a background of philosophical exploration that could at times drag us off-track, leading to moments of staring at nothing and being rattled back into the real world.  A smooth decline left us feeling capable and relaxed without being drowsy.

Duration: Long 2.5 – 3 hours

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Very strong ocular attention, joint/hand pain relief (arthritis), general relaxation, mild muscle tension relief, migraine relief, and possible ADD/ADHD/attention issue remedy.

Overall: While not quite as potent as we expected from the absolutely ridiculous appearance, this Alien OG still provided a very nice hybrid experience, with solid relaxation throughout as well as a productive but thoughtful mental state.  The bag appeal in the visual sense is off-the-charts and the appearance alone will be enough for most people to give it a go.  We did feel that it could’ve used a longer flush and cure to bring out the taste and smell to a higher degree… but really, that’s nitpicking on what was a very well cared-for sample.  We recommend this as an after-work relaxant, as it will help you unwind without sending you to sleep or off on a journey of mental distraction — despite its look, it’s suitable for all levels of patient, as long as a slight anxiety-laden start can be tolerated.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (13)

  • gadjet305
    November 23, 2010 at 1:56 pm |

    This is a beautiful specimen, would have thought the THC content would be higher.

    I had heard CAM was growing this, I was wondering are they also growing Alien Dog

    (Alien Technology x Chemdog) ? Either way looks fantastic!

  • rlp
    November 23, 2010 at 2:02 pm |

    Yes, we were a little surprised by the THC numbers as well given the level of trichome coverage and the solid harvest timing (it was maybe a BIT early, but better than many).

    However, this sample was deemed plenty potent by our veteran review staff, the only inclination we had that it wasn’t super high-THC was that it only stayed at medicinal levels for about 1.5 hours on average, dwindling in a major way from there. In my experience, the high THC strains tend to last at high levels of potency for longer, while lower THC ones can still feel like the same ‘peak potency’, but generally last less time, or perhaps more correctly, last less time at full strength.

    Thanks for the comment — we give the Alien OG a hearty recommendation regardless, as it was thoroughly enjoyed by the staff and seemed very well-grown. Having some of it just sitting around in a jar to drop the occasional jaw is almost worth the price of admission!

    Not sure if CAM is growing the Alien Dog also, perhaps Anna or another CAM staff member can chime in on that one.

  • Chris
    July 31, 2011 at 6:23 pm |

    Look frosty as hell. I’m growing an Alien OG plant this year. Can’t wait to see how it comes out. I know I did a good job if I comes out looking like the pics.

  • justin
    September 19, 2011 at 9:52 am |

    this was one of the most impressive (visually)strains ive ever seen. got some in sept 10, i live here in kansas so medical pot is hard to come by and expensive as hell often 500 an oz but this strain was amazing looking, id dare say the best ive ever seen and ive seen thousands in my 10 years, it really did look like the Incredibe Hulk(in case you didnt know bruce banner is the hulks real name, played by bb as well(bill bixby)). it was just amazing. large dark green/purple buds with huge silvery white crystals everywhere, like itd been dipped in sugar, just awesome!

  • rlp
    September 23, 2011 at 12:12 am |

    Yeah, the Alien OG is simply insane-looking. It never seems to live up to its trichome coverage with a potent effect though, it’s very mild overall. Still quality medicine, but not one for those that require high potency and no ceiling.

    Thanks for chiming in!

  • HunT
    February 19, 2012 at 5:53 am |

    Weed maps just did a review and what they had tested at 28%. so not sure if it was a special pheno of it.

  • rlp
    February 19, 2012 at 12:08 pm |

    Ehh, I’d hesitate to lend any credence to any lab testing reporting nearly 30% THC… Labs are all over the place depending on who’s doing the testing, their methods, their standards, their experience, and their geographic location. Pretty much anyone you talk to who’s grown Alien OG next to other OGs will say that the Alien seems muted in potency comparatively despite the way it looks frostier than anything in the room. It’s a show pony strain in my opinion, just doesn’t have the “oomph” that many others do. Still a nice strain though, bag appeal is certainly off the charts.

  • ed
    April 8, 2012 at 10:45 pm |

    has anyone grown alien in a green house or outdoor?
    wondering how it has turned out

  • Jp
    October 5, 2012 at 12:06 am |

    I grew a Alien Kush outside in Michigan! I’m not sure what the THC ratio is but I can tell you this. Its stronger than the hash I get at the store. Three tokes and your done. One if in my water bong. I grew Barney’s farm blue cheese , and Big Buddah blue cheese, Og kush ,lemmon skunk, Sour Diesel, and White Diesel none are even close tobeing as strong as alien kush the plant buds late and gets done fast. I love this strain and will grow it for the rest of my days. You walk in my house its all you can smell. Its locked in a coal room in my basement. On a scale of 1-10 I’d give it a 15!

  • BEE
    February 22, 2013 at 2:37 pm |

    that bud look a bit young,not enough amber triks how many weeks on that bloom,should have gone 5o% amber on those triks and 9-10 weeks bloom.

  • Cookies4Life
    June 13, 2013 at 2:42 pm |

    Yo, who the fuck screened that last idiots message… hey bro your not reading this right now because your dumb ass is in jail, guaranteed. lol like you got 40+ bottles of lean just sittin around. you the reason why marijuana aint legal around the country yet. go post that shit on a tweeker website or something. you realize all them cops gotta do is call that number and set your dumb ass up right? and that’s if they just do it the easy way and run that number on some computer and laugh as your name pops on the screen. lol people are fucking stupid. I hope your bitch ass is reading this right now from a 25 year old Dell jail PC. Lmfao, guaranteed they screen out THIS message though watch lol.

  • ndog
    January 2, 2014 at 4:46 pm |

    I’ve been working on a friend’s garden and I must say that the Alien OG is my favorite of the dozen odd strains beside it. It’s a beefy plant in veg that stands out because it just eminates a healthy vibe. The budding structure is my favorite aspect with a focous on large crowns and almost no little bushy popcorn production. Has the best density of anything I’ve ever seen hands down. Smells very pungent, like hashy kushy socks, which reminds me of a strain called white Russian (Ak47/white something?). The high is very spacey and distinct like a spaceship taking off haha. Only downfall is it isn’t as visually crystally as some of the other strains like cinex, mazar, or jack herrer, but is more potent and way spacey. My favorite plant to work with and smoke

Leave a comment