Pre-’98 Bubba Kush (Breckenridge Organic Therapy)

Written by KindReviews on September 27th, 2010. Posted in A, Blog, Breckenridge Organic Therapy, Indica, Indica-Dominant Hybrid

Pre-’98 Bubba Kush Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: Breckenridge Organic Therapy

Grade: A

Type: Indica, believed to be a landrace variety from the Afghanistan/Pakistan region that was brought into the U.S. in the 1980′s… many cuts are floating around, but the Pre-’98′s are thought to be the pick of the litter.

Price: $55/8th + tax

Appearance: (8.5/10)  A very pretty Bubba, this one wasn’t as outwardly dark as some cuts are, but it showed off a collection of near-black purple leaves upon closer inspection.  Very frosty, rather dense (even for the strain), and immaculately-manicured, this was cared for beautifully post-harvest, with nearly all the trichome heads intact.  The harvest itself may have been slightly early, as there aren’t many ambers — still, a small knock on an otherwise superb strain appearance-wise.

Aroma: (8.5/10)  Wow, this is a Bubba — quite possibly the best-smelling Bubba we’ve encountered, this one hits all the typical notes;  coffee, musk, soil, sweetness, ginger ale Kush…  The pungent skunkiness in the bag/jar is remarkable as well, with one reviewer reporting a smell making its escape through both a bag and a plastic container.  If you like Bubbas or are new to this strain, this is an excellent example of what a Bubba should smell like.

Taste: (8/10)  Lightly sweet on the attack, this Bubba showed off a mostly soil-dominant taste profile, with some musky pine and a nicely bitter, coffee-like finish.  The smoke was a little on the harsh side and took us by surprise, but the final ash was rather clean-looking, finishing a fluffy light gray… good flush.  The taste was not quite as impressive and pungent as the aroma, but it was still a very quality Bubba in that regard.

Effects: A rush of warmth to the head and behind the eyes combined with an immediate feeling of relaxation started things off right, with the eyes turning glassy, red, and low.  Mentally it had us feeling a little dopey and slow-witted, with  a mental cloud over the whole experience (a happy, golden cloud, not a gray one).  Not a professional strain where you can expect much to get done, it was best-suited to a quiet night at home alone or with friends where the occasional moments of staring at the wall may go unnoticed.  To finish, it didn’t leave us feeling groggy or drained, just very relaxed… it wasn’t a total knockout punch and would be great as a “wind-down” pre-bedtime medication.

Duration: Long, 2.5 – 3+ hours

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Mental and physical relaxation, ocular attention, anti-anxiety, mood elevation, hypertension, and mild pain relief… the strain is known for being a superb cancer/chemotherapy med as well, with its anti-nausea properties.

Overall: It seems as if we keep getting Bubbas that make us question our Top 3 list for that strain — all of them are so enjoyable and solid, providing a strong (but not too strong) Indica experience that we all have come to really love.  This one probably took the crown in the Aroma category, solely for hitting ALL of the stereotypical Bubba Kush notes if nothing else… this is one of those that you’ll find yourself sniffing in the middle of the day for no reason.  The grow quality and structure were both outstanding and there were no flaws to speak of.  If you’re looking for an Indica that won’t leave you totally incapacitated but will still do a number on stress and tension, this Bubba is a can’t-miss.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (10)

  • chan
    September 27, 2010 at 1:55 pm |

    Pricey! Love me some Bubba Kush, though.

  • Craig
    September 27, 2010 at 6:51 pm |

    That stuff looks like its dipped in sugar

  • D
    October 10, 2010 at 3:43 pm |

    just got some :D

  • October 12, 2010 at 3:22 pm |

    chan- The price is @55 but we discount to our members and regulars of our shop.

    D- I’m glad you were able to get some we are almost out and waiting for the new batch to finish curing–new batch has more of an overall purple tint to it.

    **Mention you saw us on KindReviews.com when making your Bubba purchase and we will make sure you leave happy!!!

  • D
    October 21, 2010 at 4:00 pm |

    Thanks BOT will do! this Bubba is definitely up in my top 5 all time favorite strains for sure!

  • Dirtchick74
    May 23, 2011 at 7:57 pm |

    Good stuff! I just tried it :)

  • vexed916
    February 12, 2012 at 12:23 am |

    Great to grow from seed this is by far one of my favorites..just can’t get enough of the smell!!!

  • April 13, 2012 at 12:46 am |

    I grew a bubba for 2 yrs. and the 4th grow was as good as the 1st grow. #1 in my stash and all my smoke buddies love it. It acts just like u said it does. Excellenet high and last 3-4hrs. great taste and smell. Nothing better in my opinion.

  • Tinseltown's Herban Conoisseur
    October 5, 2013 at 8:02 pm |

    I should feel bad about yelling the praises of great kushes,(“Caveman Og”) made by great kushes, but the Pre98 Bubba kush is hands down the perfect breeding partner, as well as one Breathtaking smoke!(pun intended)

Leave a comment