Colombian Gold (A Cut Above)

Written by KindReviews on September 3rd, 2010. Posted in A, A Cut Above, Blog, Reviews, Sativa

[smooth=id:40;]

Colombian Gold Medical Marijuana Strain Review

FromA Cut Above (Denver)

Grade:  A

Type:  Sativa-Dominant, specially-selected landrace strain from the Santa Marta mountains of Colombia (this particular cut is from an inbred line maintained by a grower in the US)

Price:  $50/8th

Appearance:  (8.5/10)  The Sativa was evident in its overall light structure, with many super-frosty guard leaves shielding long teardrop calyxes and light camel-colored pistils.  Classic look to this one, we really loved the trichome coverage and the overall texture, which was easy to handle and prepare.  Some might complain about the lack of density, but this is fine by us, especially in an equatorial Sativa.

Aroma:  (8.5/10)  A blend of slightly musky yet fresh citrus (lemons and limes mainly) with a skunky quality, this strain could well be the template for what many modern Sativa hybrids smell like… it reminded us of so many other strains, most notably Durban Poison (another landrace Sativa).  The aroma was nicely pungent both in and out of the jar, but really freshened up and got a lovely tangy quality when ground up.

Taste: (7.5/10)  Very interesting tea tree/citronella oil taste, slightly floral and creamy… there was also the lemon/lime tang from the aroma that came through at times.  It was a complex and engaging taste, but we really enjoyed how smooth the smoke was… only one reviewer coughed at all, and the expansion was totally manageable.  Flavor was of average pungency, but the bowl burned down cleanly, producing a fluffy light gray ash.

Effects:  Strongly Sativa to start (like many strains), it hit the eyes and forehead strongly, producing a buzzing feeling and some pressure fluctuations.  Alert and active, this sample left us feeling strongly medicated yet totally functional and positive mentally — heads were upright and dialed-in to whatever activity was happening at the moment.  Cerebral but not overly racy or frantic at all, this would likely make a good at-work type of strain due to its mental clarity.  There was a solid muscle relaxation component that came along with it though, making this a good choice for those who require some relaxation and pain relief with their Sativa strains.  Stable and smooth, this one faded out cleanly and left us feeling great.

Duration:  Long, 2.5 – 3 hours

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Energy, mood elevation, lots of ocular attention, possible relief for fibromyalgia/MS/RSD, mild pain relief, focus, sociability, and focus.

Overall:  We were excited to try this strain, as none of us had ever gotten the chance… it’s a piece of cannabis history and formed a key component of the original Sam the Skunkman Skunk #1, which has made its way into countless hybrids over the last 20+ years.  Needless to say, we really enjoyed this strain in the “bag appeal” areas, but it really shined with its mix of strongly Sativa yet functional effects package that had us feeling motivated, social, and focused.  A superb choice as a daytime medication for those who need to be on-point mentally, it packs enough power for veterans at higher dosages, but won’t totally overwhelm a newer patient either.  Superb grow job and post-harvest care, no complaints of note about this old-school classic.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (10)

  • funk
    September 5, 2010 at 9:05 pm |

    I really enjoyed the sample I had of this..Nice clear headed energetic high..Great for doing active things while staying properly medicated..

  • Neiklot
    September 17, 2010 at 11:03 am |

    I made a visit to Cut Above and sampled most of their top shelf. After a couple tries of their Columbian Gold, Alaskan, McFly, Dawg Waltz, UK Cheese & White Lightning, I was done. Every single sample had some kind of menthol/oil-esq flavor on top of the bud. I threw all of my remaining bud from them away. Why? Because all of it was obviously not flushed properly or sprayed with some kind of bug killer. It is readily apparent to me because I vaporize exclusively.

    I have no time for people who do not care to grow the medicine properly. The last thing that patients need is to worry about polluting their system with more chemicals just to get some relief. I have greatly enjoyed kindreviews, but giving this an A (as well as other medicine from Cut Above) makes me question the validity of your other reviews.

  • rlp
    September 17, 2010 at 11:47 am |

    Hi Neiklot,

    We have never noticed the taste you’re describing, though none of our reviewers vaporize for the sake of getting consistent experiences. We have growers amongst our review team and nobody picked up on anything amiss with the Colombian Gold or any other other strains we’ve gotten from A Cut Above. There was a tea tree oil/citronella-type flavor that one reviewer picked up on in the CG, but it was in the vein of many other strains that have a sort of chemical taste a la Pine Sol (or even ChemDawg, which can taste/smell like straight-up gun oil)… not sure if that’s what you were picking up on. We have another review coming from A Cut Above and nobody picked up on anything strange there either, though it wasn’t one of the strains you’ve mentioned.

    Thanks for the comment, I’m not exactly sure what to say since there’s no evidence either way really. Taste is one of those strange things that cannot always be accounted for and you may have in fact picked up on something that we missed there, especially with a different method of consumption. However, we have no reason to believe that A Cut Above sprays open flowers based on our experiences over the past 6 months reviewing their strains… There are pesticide screenings available from Full Spectrum Labs, so perhaps we can see about getting one of those done on a sample. As far as picking up on a taste, I’m not aware of what pesticides would actually taste like, though I know that Neem Oil tastes essentially like it smells, with an oddly acrid nutty quality… other than that, I am not sure if something like Floramite would leave behind a noticeable taste.

    If anyone has any thoughts, please chime in. Pesticides are one of those areas that is very tough to control and it really relies upon the scruples and knowledge of the grower(s) to really ensure that nothing unsafe is sprayed on the plants, as post-harvest it becomes nearly impossible to tell without the aid of a pesticide screening. If we have any updates in this regard, we’ll pass on the info.

  • $eth
    September 17, 2010 at 11:24 pm |

    I stopped into A Cut Above last night for the 1st time.
    Had a nice chat with the guys inside.
    They suggested their edibles, well me being someone of a very high tolerance, I usually shy away from edibles cause they just don’t work BUT .. whoa nelly.. they have this 1 brand I tried called “Medi-Snax”.
    These things are serious business, I felt so right all night. ;)
    I also picked up a gram of their “McFly” and 1 of their largest cone pre-rolled cones. The cone wasted me, In the best way possible.. followed it up with some mcfly and I was set for hours…

    Superb quality, the strain I got was organic.. I put it in the grinder and it burned great, smoked great.. definitely coming back.

  • Neiklot
    September 19, 2010 at 4:28 pm |

    Hey Rlp!

    Thank you for the excellent response. My faith in kindreviews is restored :) . I wish I could remember the review. It was another Cut Above strain. The description of the smell fit perfectly for what I deemed as a contaminant. The reviewer was viewing it as a positive attribute however.

    I have little doubt that the strains from Cut Above were not named correctly. The UK cheese and Columbian were spot on in taste — that is, with great exception to the diesel-esq pollutant on top of everything. I imagine if you are burning rather than vaporizing, this would have burned off immediately and might have gone undetected. However, each sample had a common smell (what I think is the pollutant) when ground, in addition to the proper smell of the strain.

    The effect section of the review that I cannot find describes suburbly what I deem as the consequence of inhaling the pollutant. A racy speed like “high” that dissipated quickly (20-30 minutes).

    I vaporize with the Arizer Extreme. I have been vaporizing exclusively for over 5 years now. I feel that kindreviews is making things much too hard on themselves by only having reviews from combustion of the medicine – a process that destroys much of the taste and effect, all while adding in a bunch of toxins from tar, lighter fluid, etc. Still, the descriptions of taste are amazingly accurate.

    What the pollutant may have been remains a mystery. I know that I cannot return to a dispensary that clearly does not value the health of it’s patients. I know that is a harsh, but I tried 6 different strains over multiple days and repeatedly drew the same conclusion – I was poisoning my system.

    I greatly appreciate kindreviews and its users trying to help me to figure out what it might have been. I feel strongly that we need to champion medicine that is completely healthy to consume. Much education is needed for patients like myself to be able to identify things that may cause harm.

  • high on columbian
    September 25, 2010 at 10:12 pm |

    hey guys, I grew out some columbian x chemo organically outdoors, and it has a penetrating lemon taste and a great high… the oil taste could well be natural, as this plant has a lot of strong turpenes.

  • gold madness
    December 1, 2011 at 1:15 pm |

    this is one frenized plant,,4 weeks into bloom w/5 to go,,,@ 5.9 ph@ 700 ppm steady,,size 54 wide due to tie down x 40 wide 36 inch real plant depth,,,all rising stems are developing colas 8 bloom bulb t5′s on top and 4 single t5′s on sides,,,,help !! its taking over my homeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!

  • Angelo
    May 23, 2012 at 11:49 pm |

    Want more information on medical Colombo
    Gold, and Maui , Denver desil.

  • James
    August 14, 2012 at 6:07 pm |

    Reeferman is a fraud hes been talking out his ass about colombian gold ,something that he obviously never had in his life time ,just from the description he gives about smell taste and high ,he has no clue what was colombian gold ,just stop the bullshit buddy

  • Ghost420
    September 26, 2012 at 2:40 pm |

    The columbian gold I’m growing is spelled this way. And mine is indica. Very heavy high, couchlock, weighted head & body…

Leave a comment