Truth from Berkeley MMC

Written by KindReviews on July 24th, 2011. Posted in Blog, Med Watch, med watch front page

Strain:  Truth (unknown lineage, seems to involve some sort of Kush)

From:  Berkeley MMC

Pickup Date:  7/5/2011

Inspection Status:  Pass

Passing inspection with no signs of any trouble, this sample had a very dense and rocky structure and a crisp, dry texture that offered little give when squeezed.  The trichomes were a bit odd, with a lot of variation in height and head/stem size throughout the sample, as well as a good number that were damaged.  Still, the trich coverage was solid, and the selection of deep colors seemed to suggest an Indica lineage (one staff member felt that Bubba Kush could be involved for several reasons).  It was mostly free of guard leaves thanks to a thorough trim, but we did find some tiny seeds scattered throughout the buds, likely a result of self-pollination.

Part of the reason we are thinking Kush here is because of the smell and flavor package, which offer that same greasy, lingering dank flavor and deep, spicy smell as you’d find in a Bubba cross.  It lacks the often creamy elements and adds a sharper, more fuely/rubbery bite that really comes out when the sample is ground.  The flavor wasn’t quite as strong and abiding as the aroma was, but it was very similar, and did linger on the palate for a few minutes after smoking.  The rest of the smoking experience was fairly average, with a moderate amount of harshness and expansion which can definitely cause coughing.  A light medium-gray ash was the end product of this sample, showing that it had a quality flush.

We’ll keep researching and trying to find the origins of this strain and will update this post if we find anything.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (5)

  • January 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm |

    this strain is a backcross …isolated ..stabilized..and comes from emerald Mtn seeds…the breeder…Mandelbrot is famous throughout the emerald triangle for his backcrosses…you can read the genetic background on this strain and others at the emerald mtn seeds website…this breeder who I personally worked for has a claim to fame of collecting and back crossing all the best kush that has come thru the triangle in the last 10 yrs…this strain is becoming a real favorite among locals in the triangle as it is a heavy producer and very potent….when u say it has a bubba like flavor it is because this breeders strains are ahead of the bubba strain so it’s characteristics are further up the phamily tree of kush…this breeder is known for his diesely…gassed…greasy..spunky strains and I personally only recommend this medicine to terminal patients looking for relief from terminal pain as this strain is very narcotic ,unless you harvest it to be on the “up” …then the high is a wonderful puppy indica that will leave you pondering profound questions such as how to change the world!!…Good luck and look for this companies seeds as they are all outstanding and heavy producers but not for beginners…..peas—

  • rlp
    January 16, 2012 at 2:03 pm |

    Thanks for the information! His genetics look fabulous.

  • Bongsley
    October 5, 2012 at 2:29 pm |

    What is the Emerald mtn seed website, i cant seem to find it

  • NWWASHKAYAKER
    June 13, 2013 at 9:17 pm |

    i personally received 20 EMK seeds 3 years ago and the first gen resulted in 5 distinctively different females 2 were 8 week strain and one that finishes in 70ish days there was males but ididn’t get to use the pollen and i got lost when i moved unfortunately the females have been reduced to 3 now one turns crimson and blue when it flowers i would love to get some pollen from the same strain if anyone has it and it is true its not for inexperienced growers e-mail me and i will send you some awesome photos of the females thank you Mandelbrot i fell 20 feet at work and live in pain daily definitely a narcotic strain if left to ripen …grow well friends

  • Mike jones
    September 2, 2013 at 10:56 pm |

    THE TRUTH IS NUWAVE CROSSED WITH ANIMAL COOKIES!!!!

Leave a comment