L.A. Kush (CAM)

Written by tlh on June 3rd, 2010. Posted in A, Blog, Colorado Alternative Medicine, Reviews, Sativa-Dominant Hybrid

L.A. Kush Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: Colorado Alternative Medicine (CAM)

Grade:  A

Type:  Hybrid (Should be Abusive’s OG Kush cut)

Price:  $50/8th

Appearance:  (7/10)  This sample was perfect density and had good trichome coverage, but not overwhelmingly frosty.  No seeds or pests found.

Aroma:  (9/10) The scent was very similar to the other L.A. Kush we reviewed, very pure, fresh pine kush that is unmistakeable.

Taste:  (8/10) A very smooth and mild expansion specimen, with a lovely piney, menthol eucalyptus flavor that stays on your tongue.

Effects:  The L.A. Kush is strong, with a partially cerebral and body high associated with it.  Your heart will be pounding and your head will be out of the game momentarily.  Within 10 – 15 minutes most patients will be in a solid state of mind whereby paranoia will have passed and the body effects will be a focus.  The cerebral or heady nature of this strain will always be present, but it isn’t overbearing and is actually quite enjoyable.

Duration:  Medium.  2 hours

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Good for pain, moderate appetite created.  Muscular relaxation is offered as well as a general upbeat in mood and attitude.  There was no heavy come-down on this strain.

Overall:  The L.A. Kush is a very solid strain that is only offered in a few centers in the Denver Metro area.  We found this sample to be very high quality, and only outdone in growmanship by the sample we received from Stone Mountain Wellness (in Post420 and soon on our blog).  We can’t confirm this is the Abusive’s OG Kush cut that was nicknamed L.A. Kush about 5 or 6 years ago, but it has so many similarities that if it isn’t, it must be another very fine OG Kush cut.  You can look through CAM’s portfolio of reviews and see they are very consistent in their samples, and this little gem earns CAM their very first A!

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (12)

  • funk
    June 3, 2010 at 9:26 am |

    The “Abusive” Og is an Og kush cut bred by swerve of cali connection fame.

  • tim
    June 3, 2010 at 9:32 am |

    That’s crazy to see the lineage: Abusive has his cut then passes it down to Swerve and he breeds it.

  • Scott
    June 3, 2010 at 7:41 pm |

    unfortunately many seed companies name their Selfed seedlines after established clones instead of labeling them as S1′s. Tahoe OG, SFV OG, Abusive OG all existed WAAAAY before Cali Connection started pumping out the selfed versions of these famous clones. Its difficult to track the lineage of many of todays clones due to this. There was a time when you traded a clone you knew you were getting the original, today if you hold an SFV, Tahoe, or one of a dozen other get rich quick seed companies selfed versions you dont know what you have. Those who got their clones a decade or more ago are the only ones who know they are holding the original cuts and not some knockoff. The Abusive cut originated with Abusive (its was a supposed OG selfed bagseed) passed to MrDank onto the DHK and then to the rest of the country.

  • tlh
    June 3, 2010 at 7:45 pm |

    Scott, thank you for the clarification. I truly believe most people are trying to get the real McCoy and want to keep genetics correct, unfortunatley I think most people just don’t know how or where… Hopefully we can catalogue enough of the known real strains to properly identify knockoffs sometime in the future.

  • funk
    June 3, 2010 at 10:35 pm |

    Here’s a whole take on the story of the Og’s
    http://www.thcfarmer.com/forums/f90/og-family-tree-13421/

  • funk
    June 3, 2010 at 10:39 pm |

    I wanted to clarify my first post.. Swerve took Abusive’s cut and bred it with cali connections stud male. There is another great strain in this family called the FFA ( free for all ) which is abusive og x mass superskunk, I believe.

  • Scott from Stone Mountain
    June 3, 2010 at 11:50 pm |

    FYI the first part of that OG History is BS BUT the different cuts are represented properly. That first paragraph was the story john from grass valley used to sell his seeds a long time ago. Swerve deserves alot of credit for getting the OG’s into the community as did OrGn Kid. The REAL stoy of the OG kush lies in the infamous Triangle cut. It predates all the folks who have jumped on kush craze and have cashed in. Swerve is at least working with F3 and 4 generations but there is still a touch of afghani in his “Og” seed lines. I learned about 10 years ago not to believe everything you hear from someone trying to sell you their beans.

  • funk
    June 4, 2010 at 1:04 pm |

    Thanks for the 411 scott.. I wouldn’t take anything I read online to heart, the whole myth of the og kush family is really an interesting read. So do you think that the white, the triangle, and the og are all related then??

  • nico
    September 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm |

    Hi! I have a question: how many days of flowering is needed for the L.A Kush?

  • rlp
    September 19, 2011 at 2:16 am |

    Can’t speak on CAM’s particular cut, but one that I’m familiar with runs a solid 65 days, 70 if you want it a little heavier in effect.

  • December 16, 2011 at 10:42 pm |

    Sean got the seeds from amsterdam on accident back in the 90′s and I poached my neighbors with a masive diesel fed indoor grow to get everyone hooked. clone only don’t try and step or I will burry you. Hashbar.tv Yo get a clue

  • 420cent
    December 11, 2012 at 10:25 am |

    I just picked some LA Kush yesterday and medicated last night and wow. Very cerebral high and very potent. Unlike the headband i bought from cam last, this was a pretty smooth smoke..not much coughing. I’m hooked:)

Leave a comment