Sour Kush (The Breck Loft)

Written by tlh on April 14th, 2010. Posted in A-, Blog, Reviews, Sativa-Dominant Hybrid, The Breck Loft

Sour Kush Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From:  The Breck Loft

Grade:  A-

Type:  Hybrid (**Sour Kush = Soma’s NYCD x Abusive’s OG Kush aka LA Kush)

Price:  Unknown – They say call for pricing, but won’t give pricing over the phone (We’ve tried many times).  Their good medicine is very expensive.

Appearance: Very dense buds.  The crystals are very sparkly and glisten with milky trichomes.  Little hints of purple, and definitely shows both Sour Diesel and Kush characteristics.

Aroma:  Really strong kush aroma with a hint of citrus.

Taste:  Strong kush taste with a super sour taste that lingers.

Buzz Type:  Strong body high will leave you planted.  Left me feeling very slow and sluggish.

Buzz Length:  Long. 2+ hours

Medicinal Use:  (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY) The strong body effects induced by this medicine are exactly what I need after a long day.  It sooths aches in my back and leaves me medicated for quite a long time.  Nerve, Muscle, Anxiety, Behavior.

Overall:  Mixed with Sour Diesel x Masterlow or Sour Diesel x OG Kush genetics, these buds are highly resinous and bud structure is absolutely gorgeous.  Huge swollen calyxes make this strain yield much more bud to leaf ratio.  I think this is a beautiful mix of strains that really show off its best traits.  Copious amounts of crystals, delicious citric-sour taste, and a great buzz makes this a treat for any time of the day.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (10)

  • funk
    April 14, 2010 at 9:55 pm |

    might be a ecsd x masterkush, or hindu kush..

  • Go Home East Coast Kooks
    May 23, 2010 at 10:16 pm |

    ** Sour Kush = Soma’s NYCD x Ghost’s OG Kush cut, an Orgn Kid creation.

  • tim
    May 24, 2010 at 9:23 pm |

    That is interesting, I just picked up a “Sour Kush” from someone I fully trust and it was 06 SFV Kush and NYCD. I can say it has a similar clarity as Ghost’s cut of the OG.

  • tim
    May 27, 2010 at 5:10 pm |

    Just picked up some Smelliot ;D

  • Jeffry
    October 26, 2010 at 12:56 am |

    Sour Kush is commonly Bubba kush x Sour Diesel

  • tlh
    October 26, 2010 at 8:50 pm |

    Interestingly, the newest High Times actually has an article on Sour Kush as a straight up Headband. I know many growers who grow this strain and very few refer to it as Headband, but some do. As a patient who has access to these names regularly, I can personally say that the best Sour Kush I’ve had was from Stone Mountain and it was nothing like the better Headbands I’ve tried (see the recent review from CAM). Other editors or readers care to weigh in?

  • rlp
    October 27, 2010 at 2:13 pm |

    I have traditionally seen Sour Kush as OG Kush x Sour Diesel, but DNA Genetics released one initially as Bubba Kush x Sour Diesel, later changing that on the seed company sites back to OG Kush x Sour Diesel and putting it under their Reserva Privada label rather than the main one… It may have actually been two separate releases, as I ended up getting some of the freebie seeds from Attitude seed bank as part of a promotion claiming they were a one-time release for them only… my baby looks Bubba-like with wide leaves.

    DNA also created controversy when they released that same seed pack (the OG x Sour Diesel one) as “Headband” rather than Sour Kush… given that the real Headband is a clone-only variety held very dear in DNA’s home state of Cali, the uproar caused them to reduce it to “aka Headband” and put in a disclaimer that it’s not the real Headband.

    Headband’s lineage isn’t known to my knowledge, as it pre-dated Master Kush, Sour Diesel, and OG Kush that are commonly listed as the parentage according to Cali folks that love the original.

    Stone Mountain’s Sour Kush, which is certainly the best I’ve personally had as well is Soma’s NYCD x Abusive’s OG Kush (LA Kush), which makes it insanely potent and rushy. That to me is the true Sour Kush experience, but as with many strains, there are multiple versions that are become harder and harder to untangle.

  • CHULA909
    April 5, 2011 at 11:39 pm |

    ALL I KNOW IS I JUST PICKED SOME UP AND I JUST FINISHED SOME BLACKCHERRY KUSH, DELICE

  • rlp
    April 30, 2011 at 2:09 pm |

    As an update, the DNA Genetics Sour Kush is definitely ECSD x OG Kush (not sure which, possibly one of their OG #18′s). It smells like smoked meat or something, very deeply spicy, smoky, and fuelly, while the structure trends more towards the OG Kush side.

Leave a comment