LA Kush (Natural Remedies)

Written by KindReviews on April 4th, 2011. Posted in A-, Blog, Grades, MMCs, Natural Remedies, Reviews, Sativa-Dominant Hybrid

LA Kush Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: Natural Remedies

Grade: A-

Type: Sativa-dominant hybrid

Lineage: Unknown lineage clone-only OG Kush (suspicions are that this is not Abusive’s OG, but rather a different cut that also took on the LA Kush nickname)

Price: $49/8th non-members, $45/8th members

Appearance: (8.25/10)  This example of LA Kush had a more sound structure than many, with fairly large calyxes and a tight formation of guard leaves curled around them.  It had an almost lemon-lime yellow coloration and though it wasn’t overwhelmingly frosty to the naked eye, it shined and showed dense trichome coverage up-close under the scope and camera.  The harvest timing was perhaps a little early (may have intentional to create a more uppy Sativa experience), but there were a few amber heads spotted.  The almost spear-like shape of most of the buds didn’t suggest that this is Abusive’s OG, which has strange rounded, clamshell-like calyxes and a very sparse structure.

Aroma: (9/10)  This was a fairly typical (in the BEST possible way) OG Kush aroma, with an aggressive blend of fuel, pine, citrus, and chemmy notes that seemed most strong when sitting in the bag or jar.  When it was ground or broken apart, it released a more fresh scent that had hints of eucalyptus and settled into a straight spicy Kush scent that lost the acrid qualities.  Overall though, this one was very pungent and hit all the proper notes for an OG… great job with the post-harvest care in that regard.

Taste: (8.5/10)  The taste matched the smell almost exactly, down to the pre and post-grind change (which matched the inhale and exhale/aftertaste, respectively).  On the inhale, this strain is a sharp, lemon-pine quality with a healthy fuel backing — on the exhale, it leaves behind a hint of the lemons but it mostly Kushy spice and lingering fuel.  We saw some room for improvement on the flush, as there were some dark areas amongst the majority fluffy white and gray — a few more days of clean water or something like Clearex as an initial flush may aid the burn quality and flavor.  The smoke was very smooth and not particularly expansive however, and we barely felt the inclination to cough, which is appreciated.

Effects: This LA Kush came on rather smoothly, not slamming us in the head with pressure right off the bat, but rather building up over the initial 15-30 minutes.  We did experience a strong uptick in heartrate and a buzzing internal energy that felt similar to drinking an cup of coffee or an energy drink quickly… at times, we felt a bit frantic mentally and changed tracks more often than usual.  One veteran reviewer reported such a strong Sativa experience that putting together written sentences or doing anything but sitting gape-mouthed and/or having a running dialogue with ones-self was nearly impossible — so it’s worth noting that it may be overwhelming for some patients.  The majority of us, however, felt mostly functional, if a bit frantic, but quite relaxed physically, with a buzzing body presence that seemed to relax the back and leg muscles especially.  Beyond the first 1.5 hours, the experience got very relaxing, with one reviewer actually taking a nap, and others simply reporting a desire to stretch and yawn, preferring to recline rather than just sit.  It was a relatively smooth decline in effect, being mostly gone at 2.5 hours, but lingering in the eyes and body until approximately 3 hours.

Duration: Long, 2.5 – 3 hours (multiple reviewers reported durations in excess of 3.5 hours including “linger”)

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Energy at first, mood elevation, mental and physical relaxation (especially in the 2nd half of the duration), strong appetite stimulation, light pain relief, and some sleep aid during the comedown.

Overall: This LA Kush had all the proper elements in place, but just didn’t get into the upper level of Kush that we’ve had here at KindReviews.  That’s not to say that it’s not top-level MMJ, which it certainly is, earning a strong ~93% rating from our staff and falling just short of the ‘A’ area.  The structure is great for a Kush and we loved that it was very sticky when broken up despite the overall dryness level, which was perfect and typical of Colorado medicine.  The smell and taste were all Kush and will certainly please anyone of that persuasion, with the typical lemon-pine-fuel combination that was pungent in all forms.

While it wasn’t quite as potent as some other examples we’ve had of this strain, this is medicine for intermediate-to-advanced patients, with a very strong start that can trend towards the anxious at times.  However, we felt the underlying Kush relaxation throughout the mostly cerebral and expansive experience, which helped to make this feel more like a 60/40 Sativa hybrid in terms of actual experience.  This versatile Kush is suitable for either daytime or night time use, though we’d suggest medicating a few hours prior to the planned bedtime, as the cerebral effects and energy at first could delay things… we found that 1.5 – 2.5 hours was the prime relaxation point.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (7)

  • John
    April 4, 2011 at 4:46 pm |

    I think that you guys put too much emphasis on ‘harvest timing’. As you can see from the lab test, there is clearly much active cannabinoid in the plant. When a trichome head turns brown/amber, that means almost any active ingredient present has degraded into an unusable chemical…The more amber heads you have, the less potential. Cloudy heads are the best bet…my $.02

  • rlp
    April 4, 2011 at 5:02 pm |

    Thanks for your input. We always discuss harvest timing because the majority of dispensary product and cannabis in general is harvested too early and fails to reach its full maturity, when all aspects of its effects, taste, and smell are allowed to reach their peak. Certain strains taste and smell better when pulled early, and oftentimes an early harvest is somewhat intentional to prevent an overtly sedative experience, so it’s not always a “flaw” per se, just something that we always mention for those who know how they tend to like their medicine. Our viewpoint of ~15% amber heads being desirable is just that, a viewpoint — we aren’t claiming that is the right answer all of the time, but that’s where our personal preference as editors and reviewers tends to lie.

    Also, the THC doesn’t degrade into an “unusable chemical”, it degrades into CBN (cannabinol), which has a wide variety of medical uses, especially as a sleep aid. The reason that we generally like to see ~15% amber tichome heads in the samples we receive for the most part is because it allows all aspects of the experience to come out, whereas pulling it early tends to concentrate on the more cerebral aspects of things.

  • rlp
    April 4, 2011 at 5:12 pm |

    And it is true that milky, cloudy heads are the sign of peak potency. However, you also have to recognize that the plant matures at different rates in different areas, so some trichomes are beginning to turn amber when others are cloudy, even within one main area of the plant (on a large cola, for example). The best bet to having a plant that’s reached its full potential in my mind is one that shows a smattering of amber trichomes in all areas (top cola, middle, larf)… that just indicates that the peak was reached, and if you cut it soon enough, you’ll get the most medicinal bang for your buck, so to speak.

  • John
    April 5, 2011 at 10:36 am |

    Yes, you make excellent points there.

  • john doe
    April 10, 2011 at 12:04 pm |

    That weed aint finished. It doesn’t take a genius to see the weed hasn’t puffed up yet. Needed to go another 3 weeks or so. LOL @ talking about trichrome color when the shit hasnt even puffed up yet. n00bs.

  • rlp
    April 10, 2011 at 12:32 pm |

    We agree that it could’ve gone a little longer, but 3 weeks is ridiculous. It would’ve been practically dying on the vine with another 3 weeks…

    Keep in mind that the nugs pictured may also be from lower parts of the plant that were a bit behind the tops — as a grower in a commercial facility, when the majority of the harvest is mature (generally the tops), you cut it — whole-plant harvesting is a very imperfect science, but those are some of the compromises that growers must make in large-scale facilities.

  • lilJoker
    June 12, 2012 at 1:10 am |

    I love how you actually reply to peoples feedback :) . Im going to be trying this particular strain tomorrow. What is your preferred Vegitation time? And is there anything that stands out from this strain on the plant?

Leave a comment