303 Kush (Green Dream Health Services)

Written by KindReviews on April 22nd, 2011. Posted in A, Blog, Grades, Green Dream Health Services, Indica-Dominant Hybrid, MMCs, Reviews

303 Kush Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: Green Dream Health Services

Grade: A

Type: Indica-dominant hybrid

Lineage: Pre-’98 Bubba Kush x Reservoir ChemDawg IC3 (in-cross 3), clone-only, selected by “Hill Billy” and originally bred by “Zombo”.

Price: $50/8th

Appearance: (8.75/10)  This sample had a very Bubba-like appearance, as tends to happen with most Bubba Kush crosses, with hints of purple and dark gray-green colors and moderately large calyxes.  There was a decent amount of leaf matter interwoven into the sample, but it is more from genetics than due to the trim or anything along those lines.  We found no sign of tiny seeds or any other real grow flaws, but the harvest timing was perhaps a bit earlier than we would have liked, with hardly any amber trichomes spotted.

Aroma: (9.5/10)  We were definitely “wowed” by the aroma that this Colorado-born cross possessed, as it was extremely pungent and reminded us of some of the best coffee-chocolate Bubbas we’ve had.  There were notes of smokey bourbon, anise, and a backing sharp chemmy quality that came out post-grind, making this one of the most complex aromas we’ve encountered in some time.  If you’re a fan of the dank, spicy smells of Bubba Kush, this strain will likely surpass most examples of pure Bubba in your mind’s eye, as it has in ours.

Taste: (8.75/10)  While it was nearly impossible to live up to the aroma, the taste did come close to matching it, though it lost some of the added post-grind complexity and was mostly Bubba in profile.  One of the great things about Bubba Kush is the “greasy” flavor which seems to coat the mouth and sinuses — this sample was no exception there, and we could taste it lingering for at least a half hour into the review.  The smoke had an interesting thin, mentholated quality to it and really didn’t give us the urge to cough at all, even on the later hits.  The final ash was a speckled light gray, showing a very good flush.

Effects: One word kept coming up during our reviews of this strain, and that was “fun” — this one just really improved our moods almost immediately, making us feel social, extroverted, and creative.  It definitely felt Sativa in profile to start, increasing energy and bordering on racy at times (never anxious though), with a heavily buzzing body and pressurized face/eyes.  The happy mood and relaxed body which made up the majority of the experience post-30 minutes wasn’t conducive to working simply because we wanted to enjoy life more than concentrate on anything.  This strain was great for some mind-wandering and following your fancy, so to speak.  After the main potency passed around 1.5 hours into the experience, we felt more able to actually relax and concentrate if needed, and the body relaxation feelings increased.

Duration: 1.5 – 2 hours medicinal-level potency, ~3 hours overall duration

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Major mood elevation, anti-anxiety, some energy increase to start, and muscle relaxation.

Overall: It’s always a pleasure to review a new strain, but especially ones that are created right here in Colorado by local growers — this 303 Kush is one of those, and it will eventually make a big splash on the scene in our estimation.  For lovers of Bubba Kush, this strain is a must-try, especially for the aroma and taste package, which is potent and reminds us of the best examples of that strain we’ve ever had.  The effect is a little more uplifting and active than Bubba traditionally is, but this 303 still had quality body relaxation properties that made the incredible mood wit put us in even more enjoyable.  Great job  by the GDHS team sourcing and growing this cut, and we hope that it makes its way out to other shops, because we think that it’s pretty special.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (7)

  • April 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm |

    303 Kush, our newest addition will be back in stock in about ten days. We have a plethora of other nice strains, as well as Green Dream Wax and Bubba Banner Solventless Wax.

  • CWH
    April 22, 2011 at 2:41 pm |

    My fav strain of 2011 so far!

  • griffin-8-r
    January 8, 2012 at 3:05 am |

    Another top quality daily soker from Green Dream Health Services!

  • Hindu
    December 29, 2012 at 9:11 pm |

    When I seen 303 kush listed I had to look. Its not bred by Hillbilly..not sure who claimed this. If he said so he is lieing. Its a bubba Kush x to a rez chemD bx3, this cross was done by my friend Zombo…who gifted seed to Hillbilly to test. True story. We have been trying to get it…the cut..but its proved difficult, maybe hillbilly isnt the good folks that was beleived.

  • tlh
    December 31, 2012 at 3:01 pm |

    No, you are correct and we will update this listing. The page was built prior to any of us knowing Hillbilly directly and the story was skewed along the way. The 303Kush is a pheno of the BubbaD you describe and HB says as much. In the Colorado industry few have proven to be as good of people as he has. Sorry if this caused you any heartburn.

  • Julien
    January 28, 2013 at 7:28 pm |

    So amazing you can see the crystals standing up

  • Tmac
    September 6, 2013 at 2:39 pm |

    I’m not sure if you’re looking for this Zombo cut still, but I have it and am willing to share.

Leave a comment