Bruce Banner #3 (Green Dream Health Services)

Written by KindReviews on January 15th, 2011. Posted in A-, Blog, Grades, Green Dream Health Services, MMCs, Reviews, Sativa-Dominant Hybrid

Bruce Banner #3 Medical Marijuana Strain Review

From: Green Dream Health Services

Grade: A-

Type: Soil-grown Sativa-dominant hybrid, Ghost’s OG Kush x Reservoir Strawberry Diesel (GDHS also offers a Hydro version of BB #3)

Price: $50/8th

Appearance: (8.25/10)  This Bruce Banner #3 had rather sound structure for a Sativa-dominant strain, made up of several spear-shaped nugs that displayed alternating dark and light green coloration and deep blood red pistils.  The trichome preservation was high, indicating that this sample was well cared-for post-harvest and didn’t go through a mechanical trimmer.  The harvest timing was very good, but perhaps slightly early for our tastes, as there weren’t many visible amber heads.  We did find a couple of tiny immature seeds via the microscope, but they were not noticeable with the naked eye.  We were semi-impressed with the visual appeal of this strain — we’ve seen better BB’s in the past, but it’s still rather well-done.

Aroma: (7.75/10)  While not the most pungent OG/Diesel strain by a long shot, this one produced a semi-sweet pine, citrus (think orange rind/zest), and soil combination that reminded us quite a bit of the Ghost’s OG mother.

Taste: (7.5/10)  The main flavor again brought to mind the Ghost’s OG Kush mother plant, producing a spice and soil-heavy flavor that reminded us a bit of anise liqueur.  Some reviewers complained of “hot smoke” as this one went on, but overall the flavor was nicely enduring and stayed consistent for most of us.  The smoke itself was definitely a little harsh and expansive, making this more of an advanced smoking experience compared to many strains.  The final ash was light gray with white speckles, showing it had a good flush.

Effects: This Banner was very rushy, though it took about 5 minutes to really come on, building to its peak at about 25 minutes after ingestion.  A buzzy, light, energetic feeling radiated throughout the body, but almost uncomfortably so — this one is definitely not for anxiety or muscle tension sufferers (especially the upper back and neck area).  There was a definite mental uplift, but in more of a serious and directed way than a euphoric, flighty one, making us feel rather productive and dialed-in.  The rushy feelings subsided after about an hour, and the latter part was mildly relaxing, calling upon the OG Kush more than the Diesel side of the family.

Duration: Long, 2.5 – 3 hours

Medicinal Traits: (We are NOT doctors – personal opinion ONLY)  Energy, mood elevation, lots of head and eye pressure cycling (possible migraine and ocular relief), and some late relaxation.

Overall: Bruce Banner #3 is certainly an A+ potential strain, but it really depends on what the patient is medicating for as to whether or not it ever reaches that mark personally.  For most of us, it’s just too rushy and cerebral (some reviewers complained of equilibrium loss as well, comparing it to motion sickness) for daily use.  For others, it’s a great uplift that serves to snap you out of your seat and enhance productivity — we though it would make a good exercise and high-energy activity type of strain.  The tiny seeds were the only real mark against it grow-wise, as the structure and trichome coverage were both very nice.  Some reviewers loved the taste while to others it was just okay, but it was a lasting flavor that most OG/Diesel heads will enjoy.  This is definitely a daytime med, but it’s advisable to take it easy on the dosage at first,especially if anxiety is a concern.

Related Reviews and Strains

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Comments (12)

  • Jack Herer
    January 17, 2011 at 10:36 am |

    I use this to get rid of my anxiety!

  • rlp
    January 17, 2011 at 10:55 am |

    Good to know. During our reviews it was very racy to start and had us a little on-edge (especially muscle-wise… the heart-racing, etc. might get to some anxiety sufferers as well), but it does even out quite a bit in the 2nd half.

    Just goes to show that it really does depend on body chemistry — kind of similar to how Ritalin (a stimulant) generally works to calm down hyper personality types. Thanks for the feedback.

  • Jack Herer
    January 17, 2011 at 2:17 pm |

    It’s funny because indica’s give me anxiety because they sedate me so much I feel like I’m neglecting my responsibilities. This is the only cannabis I have found that motivates me without the anxiety. Anyways isn’t it OG Kush x Strawberry Diesel? I thought Bruce Banner #5 was the Ghost OG cross

  • rlp
    January 17, 2011 at 2:43 pm |

    Nope, all Bruce Banner phenotypes came from Ghost’s OG Kush x Reservoir Strawberry Diesel. Pheno #1 is rather balanced between the two strains, #3 is the Kush-dominant pheno that was most-liked, and #5 is the Strawberry Diesel-dominant phenotype. It was originally publicized as OG Kush x Strawberry Diesel because they weren’t sure which OG the cut was, but that’s since been cleared up and they believe with high certainty that it’s the Ghost.

    *comment edited after discussion with knowledgeable sources — thanks to Ethan for commenting*

  • ethan
    January 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm |

    I’ve had all 3 and #1 is weird and not very good, #3 is OG dominant and #5 is strawberry dominant, IMO

  • Andy
    January 18, 2011 at 6:01 pm |

    I picked up some Bruce from Green Dream yesterday!… I like that shop, and I can’t wait to try the Bruce.

  • theone
    January 31, 2011 at 11:38 pm |

    Banner is not from the Ghost’s cut…

  • rlp
    February 1, 2011 at 12:34 am |

    It was an unknown OG cut at the time of creation, but it’s since been pinned down as the Ghost from a couple different angles. Let us know if you know otherwise though… there was never a positive ID on the OG part until fairly recently.

  • theone
    February 3, 2011 at 12:15 pm |

    I guess with that non-explanation we will just have to take your word for even though there’s no resemblance.

  • rlp
    February 3, 2011 at 12:22 pm |

    Well what do you think it is, and what facts ground that opinion? There’s NO information on what cut it is, and the holders of the original OG cut that was bred into Banner have told us that they believe it with a high level of confidence to be the Ghost cut after having experience with that cut itself. That’s the most information ANYONE (including the creator himself) has on the lineage, so that’s what we publish. My professional opinion from tasting and smelling the strain is that it resembles the Ghost a great deal, with that same oddly gingery citrus-spice combination that we know intimately and love. Putting that together with the original team who created the strain telling us that they believe it to be the Ghost cut gives us the info we present to the public.

  • THCulver
    May 16, 2012 at 10:15 am |

    No doubt there is Ghost OG lineage involved…No other OG comes out with the ginger/spice aroma that the Ghost OG cut does and it is directly expressed in the #3 phenotype of the Banner.

Leave a comment